My husband and I married a little over six years ago at the Fairmont Copley Plaza Hotel in my hometown of Boston, Massachusetts. It was an intimate affair of 300 or so of our closest family and friends (intimate in the South Asian community is anything shy of 500 guests). That day, I married my wonderful husband whose kindness and humility never ceases to amaze me.

While my husband is awesome and all, the process to getting married wasn’t quite as peachy and straight forward as you would think. With our strong cultural heritage, respected rituals and families, we had built a laundry list of ‘to dos’, wishes, and a multi-day extravagant affair. Our key functions alone spanned over a week and a half between Boston, MA and Chicago, IL. While I’m grateful for my big fat and lavish Pakistani-American wedding (thank you ammi and abbo), I do not miss wedding planning.

Over 13 months of planning, more than 1,000 unique guests at one of the many ceremonies/receptions, countless reviews of invitation and program text, bridal consultancy and a wedding website, we really have lovely memories and photographs to look back on. I invested a great deal of time in finding vendors that not only matched my vision for a wedding, but aligned with our personality as a couple.

I promised I would retire as a wedding planner after May 15, 2010, but I’m re-emerging here as a wedding-advice-giver on the blog.

Below are a few photographs from our wedding. I’ll be adding several posts to the blog for soon-to-be-brides. Advice that I wish I had along the way.

